RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Chinese Drawing Room of Alexander I

The Chinese Drawing Room, created to the designs of the architect Rastrelli in 1752–56, belonged to the private imperial apartments. This interior stood out among the rooms of the Golden Enfilade on account of the silk lining the walls that was painted with watercolours in the Chinese manner. The rest of the décor followed the general style of the state rooms: a ceiling painting, carved and gilded dessus-de-portes designed by the sculptor Duncker, mirrors between the windows, stoves with “Hamburg” tiles and a patterned parquet floor.

After the 1820 fire the original décor was recreated by Vasily Stasov on the orders of Alexander I: the walls were relined with new painted silk; the gilded woodcarving was restored and the artist Fiodor Briullov (1793–1869) made a new ceiling painting: Zephyr and Flora.

When the room was restored after the Second World War the lost Chinese silk was replaced with white damask, while the ceiling painting was replaced with a copy of François Boucher’s Venus Disarming Cupid, surrounded by four compositions of playing cupids in gilded stucco frames in the form of twining shoots. At the present time the painted silk wall-lining is being recreated on the basis of an extant sample of the fabric (right).

The paintings and furnishings of the Chinese Drawing Room of Alexander I that survived in evacuation have been returned to their historical places. The walls are once again adorned by splendid portraits by unknown artists of the first half of the eighteenth century – Peter the Great and Catherine I, their daughters Anna and Elizabeth, and Empress Anna Ioannovna; a likeness of Emperor Peter II by Johann Paul Lüdden and also portraits of Catherine II (a copy of the work by Johann Baptist Lampi the Elder) and Alexander I (by George Dawe). Displayed on card-tables and chests of drawers are pieces of Japanese and Chinese porcelain and eighteenth-century products of the Royal Porcelain Factory in Berlin. A unique item in Russian collections is a chest of drawers from the palace stocks inlaid with metal ornament. In all probability this fine piece of furniture was made in Augsburg in the 1740s – in other words, before the Great Palace (the Catherine Palace) was decorated – although it would seem to have arrived in Tsarskoye Selo only in the nineteenth century.

The Chinese Drawing Room of Alexander I
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Китайская гостиная Александра I

Созданная по проекту архитектора Ф.-Б. Растрелли в 1752–1756 годах Китайская гостиная Александра I относилась к личным императорским покоям. Ее интерьер выделялся среди комнат Золотой анфилады дворца шелковой обивкой стен с росписью акварельными красками в китайской манере. В остальном отделка следовала общему стилю парадных залов: живописный плафон, резные золоченые десюдепорты по моделям скульптора И.-Ф. Дункера, зеркала между окон, печи из «гамбургских» изразцов и наборный паркет.

После пожара 1820 года первоначальная отделка была, согласно распоряжению императора Александра I, воссоздана по проекту В. П. Стасова: стены затянули новым расписным шелком, заказанным в Китае, восстановили деревянный резной золоченый декор, художник Ф. П. Брюллов (1793–1869) написал новый плафон «Зефир и Флора».

При реставрации гостиной после Великой Отечественной войны утраченный китайский шелк был заменен белым штофом, а на место плафона помещена современная копия с картины Ф. Буше «Венера, обезоруживающая Купидона», окруженная четырьмя композициями «Игры амуров» в лепном золоченом обрамлении в виде вьющихся побегов. В настоящее время расписные шелковые обои зала воссозданы по уцелевшему образцу шелка.

Живопись и предметы убранства Китайской гостиной Александра I, сохраненные в эвакуации, заняли свои исторические места. На стены вернулись выполненные неизвестными художниками первой

половины XVIII века портреты Петра I и Екатерины I, их дочерей — Анны и Елизаветы, императрицы Анны Иоанновны, портрет императора Петра II кисти И.-П. Людена, а также портрет Екатерины II (копия с работы И.-Б. Лампи Старшего) и портрет Александра I кисти Д. Доу. На ломберных столах и комодах представлены предметы японского и китайского фарфора и изделия берлинской Королевской фарфоровой мануфактуры, изготовленные в XVIII столетии. Уникальным для отечественных собраний является комод из дворцовой коллекции, инкрустированный орнаментальным декором из металла. По всей видимости, это произведение мебельного искусства изготовлено в Аугсбурге в 1740-х годах — то есть еще до завершения отделочных работ в Большом дворце, хотя попало в Царское Село, скорее всего, лишь в XIX столетии.

Панорама из приложения «Царское Село» для iPad

Китайская гостиная Александра I
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта