RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Cold Bath

The central part in the ensemble that Cameron constructed is taken by the Cold Bath pavilion.

See on Map

The model of the Cold Bath was completed in 1780 and in the spring of that same year construction of the pavilion – a fairly small two-storey building – began. Its lower floor contained a bathing hall, a warm bathroom and a Russian steam bath. The upper floor consisted of six richly finished rooms for relaxation and amusements that became known as the Agate Rooms.

The architectural treatment of the facades of the Cold Bath, and of the complex as a whole, is founded on contrasting decoration of the storeys. The lower storey is separated by a cornice from the second and is faced with massive rough-hewn blocks of large-pored Pudost limestone that seems to have been eroded by wind and rain, creating the illusion of great age, of the “genuine antiquity” of the edifice. The second storey, by contrast, is light and bright: niches painted the colour of terracotta stand out against the light yellow of the walls. Round moulded bas-relief medallions with mythological subjects are placed along the top of the walls. The longer north-east wall is pierced by semicircular windows, the end walls by rectangular French windows placed within arches. The niches between the windows contain sculptural figures of mythological characters.

The main, south-west façade of the Cold Bath opens onto a terrace held up by vaults resting on massive brick pillars. The terrace serves as a base for the Hanging Garden and is a linking element between Cameron’s ensemble and the Great Palace. Seen from the Hanging Garden and the Cameron Gallery the upper storey of the Cold Bath seems to be a completely independent single-storey park pavilion. The main façade differs from the others in having columns of the same kind as on the Cameron Gallery, which stresses the unity of the buildings.

The Cold Bath is a rare example for Russian architecture of a building the very plan of which reflects an intention to imitate ancient prototypes. In designing the Cold Bath Cameron apparently took as his starting point the plan of the Thermae of Constantine, which were destroyed in the early seventeenth century but are known from measurements taken by Palladio. The rooms in that bath complex included an apodyterium for undressing, an unctuarium for the application of oils; a sphaeristerium – a large exercise hall; a calidarium – hot bath; a laconicum –steam room; a tepidarium – a warm room with heated water; and a frigidarium – a cold room with a pool. The fact that at Tsarskoye Selo the architect was trying to reproduce the layout of Roman thermae is also borne out by documents. Among the rooms on the lower floor they refer to one with a tin-lined pool in the centre, a “hot bath” and a “relaxation room”.

In the second-storey interiors Cameron used coloured stone, painting and mouldings. The stucco work in the Cold Bath was done by Osip Melnikov, a serf owned by the eminent architect and poet Nikolai Lvov; the sculpture by Jacques-Dominique Rachette and K. Hoffert. Other talented decorators working in St Petersburg in the 1780s were also involved in finishing these interiors. Notable among them were the sculptor and decorator Charlemagne-Baudet and the painter Johann Rudolf.

The floors of the Cold Bath were decorated with parquets that Christian Meyer had produced to Yury Velten’s designs for the house that was being built in St Petersburg for Alexander Lanskoi. (Due to the favourite’s untimely death they were not required.)

Despite the ravages of the war years, the original décor of the pavilion’s interiors has survived. At the present time the rooms on the lower floor of the Cold Bath are used for temporary exhibitions.

Russian Bath

Entering the Cameron Thermae from beneath the vaults of the Hanging Garden you come into a corridor that was flanked by service rooms in the eighteenth century: rooms for servants, storerooms for oils and other bathing paraphernalia. Here too were the stoves and boilers required to heat the water.

Today we enter the ground-floor rooms through the service area beyond which lies the steam bath that was not a feature of Roman thermae but traditional for Russia – fairly small room that used to have a wooden ceiling, a simple board floor and wood-lined walls. The purpose of this room determined its functional finish.

Cameron was not conversant with the construction of a Russian bathhouse and requested the assistance of the Office of Works in its construction. The job was entrusted to the architect Ilya Neyelov, who presented his estimate for the work in October 1785. In keeping with his project a stove was placed in the south corner of the room with 250 cannonballs piled on its latticed vault; water was poured over these to produce steam. In the opposite corner were lime-wood shelves, benches and tanks for water. Heated water entered from the room next-door.

The route through the Cameron Thermae followed the Ancient Roman practice of gradually diminishing temperature from room to room – from the Russian steam bath to the Bathing Room.

Corner Cabinet. Bathroom

The Corner Cabinet – a room with a square floor plan and a semicircular niche – was used for massage. This small room was decorated with four marble Corinthian columns and moulded medallions with mythological subjects on the coves of the vault.

The spacious vaulted room next-door is illuminated by a large semicircular window that formerly contained a tub for bathing in warm water. Two doors along its north-east wall linked this Bathroom with the Corner Cabinet and the Bathing Hall. Additionally, on the opposite wall, Cameron placed two false doors. The walls of the Bathroom were plastered and painted: the only embellishment on them are beading frames that divide the surface of the walls into panels and high-relief decorative stucco vases placed above the doors. In the nineteenth century a light grey marble fireplace was installed in the Bathroom.

Bathing Hall

The brightest and most spacious room on the ground floor is the Bathing Hall with two semicircular windows and four doors. It is covered by a double cross-vault.

In Cameron’s original project the Bathing Hall was supposed to look especially elegant and striking with gilded mouldings on the vaults and walls richly finished with artificial marble and ornamental painting. He proposed placing a sumptuous canopy above the pool supported on faience columns with gilded bronze eagles and paving the floor with different coloured marble.

The Empress, however, rejected this scheme. Cameron managed to retain only part of his original concept and to use relief compositions to decorate the hall with mythological subjects connected with the element of water. The walls and vaults were plastered; the floor of the Bathing Hall was covered with oak parquet and the restrained relief décor of the walls was complemented by white-painted doors.

The sculptural frieze made up of rectangular panels alternating with round medallions includes the subjects The Toilet of Venus, Galatea and Neptune, Bathing Naiads and The Triumph of Amphitrite and also allegories of rivers and lakes, depictions of female bathers and the muse Euterpe. Placed beneath the vaults are large panels containing multi-figure compositions: on the south-east wall Acis and Galatea; on the south-west Pan and Syrinx and Nessus the Centaur with Deianira. The bas-relief on the north-west wall shows Amphitrite in the company of nereids, tritons, dolphins and cupids. The sculptural compositions were produced from sketches by Jacques-Dominique Rachette.

This hall used to contain a circular bathing pool with a volume of 13 cubic metres surrounded by a wooden balustrade. Its walls were made of brick with a tin lining produced by a craftsman named Albrecht. Besides this, the hall contained a white marble fireplace mounted with gilded bronze.

During the Second World War, the Bathing Hall was used as a stable. The pool was smashed; many of the doors were destroyed and the floor completely wrecked. Restoration work was carried out in the hall in 1949 and 1990.

Lounge. Lobby

In size, shape and architectural treatment the Lounge with its single window and niche with a semicircular conch was a repetition of the Corner Cabinet and was occupied almost entirely by “an ancient couch”.

The Lounge was not given the decorative finish that Cameron intended. Its walls and domical ceiling were only smoothly plastered and painted; columns of white and coloured natural marble were set in the corners and four bas-relief medallions of mythological scenes placed on the coves of the vault. Two of these were devoted to the myth of Cupid and Psyche, the others depicted Aphrodite with Adonis and a scene from the story of Selene and Endymion.

The Lounge is further adorned by a white marble fireplace with female figures on the pilasters and carved ornament by Charlemagne-Baudet on the frieze.

A door from the Lounge leads to the cross-vaulted Lobby with a single window and three doorways. On account of its service function this room had no artistic decoration. The walls of the Lobby were plastered and painted, the floor, as everywhere else in this storey, was covered with oak parquet. From the Lobby you can reach the staircase and ascend to the upper floor of the pavilion.

Staircase

The two storeys of the Cold Bath pavilion are linked by a spiral staircase designed by Cameron and located in the south corner of the building. The lines of the stairs and the stairwell as a whole are one of the Scottish architect’s most perfect and refined creations, something unique in the history of Russian architecture to which he rightly belongs. The staircase is inscribed in an oval space. Two doors below lead out beneath the Hanging Garden and in to the rooms of the bathhouse.

The broad areas of wall in the stairwell contain the same kind of semicircular niches found on the facades of the pavilion. In Catherine’s time they contained four marble statues that were removed in 1798 on the orders of Emperor Paul I. Above the niches are round moulded medallions containing mythological compositions by Jacques-Dominique Rachette.

The domical ceiling of the stairwell is embellished with rows of moulded ornament: the white rosettes in the coffers create the impression of lacework. At the base of the dome is a moulded cornice bearing a relief of lotus leaves; below it is a broad frieze of elegant arabesques with figures of griffons and vases between them.

The cutting of costs on the decoration of the lower floor of the Cold Bath and adjustment of the original plans also affected the stairs. In response to Cameron’s question as to what she would like the steps to be made from – Russian marble or “wild stone”, the Empress replied: “From wild stone, but peaceful.” Following Catherine’s wishes, the architect created a single winding flight of 41 steps of grey fine-grained granite inscribed into the oval stairwell without the customary supports. The ends of the steps (up to 40 centimetres in length) were inserted into a special channel cut in the wall and wedged in with stone. The edges of the steps were linked together by a sort of tongue-and-groove arrangement and so the steps also rested one on another. The balustrade of the stairs was given a simple design in the form of a vertical rods and smooth gilded rosettes. The polished handrail was made of Eastern Juniper. The floor of the stairwell was paved with white and grey marble with a broad border of Putilov stone.

The pavilion's ground floor currently houses the exhibition Agate Rooms: The Way to Revival dedicated to the history and restoration of the Agate Rooms. Visiting information

The Cold Bath
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Холодная баня

Центральное место в ансамбле, возведенном Ч. Камероном, принадлежит павильону «Холодная баня».

Модель Холодной бани была закончена в 1780 году, и весной того же года началось строительство павильона — небольшого двухэтажного здания. В его нижнем этаже были расположены помещения для водных процедур, а в верхнем — шесть богато отделанных помещений для отдыха и развлечений, получившие название «Агатовых комнат».

Архитектурное оформление фасадов Холодной бани, как и всего комплекса, построено на контрасте отделки этажей. Нижний, цокольный этаж отделен от второго карнизом и облицован массивными блоками грубо обработанного, пористого, словно изъеденного ветрами и дождями пудостского камня, создающего иллюзию «древности», подлинности «античного» памятника. Второй этаж, напротив, легок и светел; на фоне нежножелтого тона стен выделяются ниши, окрашенные в терракотовый цвет. По верху стен размещены круглые лепные медальоны-барельефы с мифологическими композициями. В продольной северо-восточной стене прорезаны полуциркульные окна, в торцевых — прямоугольные окна-двери, помещенные в арках. В простенках расположены ниши со скульптурными фигурами различных аллегорических и мифологических персонажей.

Главный, юго-западный фасад Холодной бани выходит на террасу на сводах, опирающихся на массивные кирпичные столбы. Терраса служит основанием для Висячего сада и является связующим звеном между сооружениями ансамбля Камерона и Большим Царскосельским дворцом. Со стороны Висячего сада и Камероновой галереи верхний этаж Холодной бани воспринимается как совершенно самостоятельный одноэтажный парковый павильон.

От остальных фасадов главный фасад отличается наличием таких же, как на Камероновой галерее, колонн, чем подчеркивается единство этих сооружений.

Холодная баня — редкий в истории русской архитектуры образец здания, в самом плане которого нашла отражение идея следования античным образцам. Разрабатывая проект Холодной бани, Ч. Камерон, по-видимому, использовал планировку центральной части терм Константина, уничтоженных в начале XVII века и известных по обмерам А. Палладио, которые он воспроизвел с комментариями в своем трактате «Термы римлян». Согласно Камерону, в число помещений римских терм входили аподитерий, или помещение для раздевания; унктуарий — для хранения масел; сферистерий — большой зал для упражнений; кальдарий — горячая баня; лаконик — парильня; тепидарий — теплая комната с подогретой водой и фригидарий — холодная баня. В Холодной бане были устроены Купальный зал с оловянным бассейном в центре, «теплая» и «жаркая» бани, «отдыхательная комната». Все помещения нижнего этажа имеют каменные своды и освещены высоко расположенными полукруглыми – «термальными» - окнами. В них повсюду простые дубовые наборные паркеты  и выкрашенные в белый цвет одностворные филенчатые двери.

В интерьерах второго этажа Ч. Камерон применил цветной камень, живопись и лепку. Лепные работы во всем здании выполнял О. Мельников — крепостной Н. А. Львова, известного архитектора и поэта, и другие матера, скульптурные — Ж.-Д. Рашетт и К. Гофферт. В отделке интерьеров участвовали и другие талантливые мастера-декораторы, работавшие в Санкт-Петербурге в 1780-х годах, среди которых следует особенно отметить скульптора и декоратора Ж.-Б. Шарлеманя-Боде, выступавшего в качестве подрядчика на проведение большинства отделочных работ, и живописца И. Рудольфа.

Для полов в верхнем этаже были использованы паркеты, выполненные мастером X. Мейером по проектам Ю. М. Фельтена для дома А. Д. Ланского, строившегося в эти же годы в Санкт- Петербурге (из-за смерти фаворита императрицы они остались невостребованными).

Несмотря на повреждения военных лет, первоначальная отделка интерьеров павильона сохранилась. В настоящее время помещения первого этажа Холодной бани используются для временных выставок.

РУССКАЯ БАНЯ

От расположенного посередине здания входа из-под сводов Висячего сада начинается коридор, по сторонам которого располагались различные службы: комнаты для прислуги, кладовые для хранения масел и различных банных принадлежностей, помещения, где были устроены печи и котлы для нагревания воды.

Сегодня мы входим в комнаты первого этажа через небольшой овальный вестибюль, с такими же, как на фасаде, нишами. Сразу за ним располагалась «горячая баня», устроенная как традиционная для России  парная, маленькая, ранее сплошь обшитая деревом.

Ч. Камерон не имел представления об устройстве русской бани и для ее создания обратился за помощью в Контору строений. Работа была поручена архитектору И. В. Неелову, который представил заказчикам смету в октябре 1785 года. Согласно его проекту в южном углу комнаты поставили печь, на решетчатом своде которой было сложено 250 пушечных ядер; их поливали водой для образования горячего пара. В углу напротив находился полок из липовых досок, скамейки и баки для воды. Подогретая вода поступала из котла, расположенного за стеной.

Императрица спускалась в Холодную баню по лестнице из бельэтажа, пройдя из своих комнат через Висячий сад.

УГЛОВЫЕ КАБИНЕТЫ. («ОТДЫХАТЕЛЬНАЯ КОМНАТА», КОМНАТА ДЛЯ МАССАЖА)

Два угловых кабинета имеют одинаковую отделку. Из задуманного Камероном были выполнены лишь изящные коринфские колонны цветного и белого мраморов. Эти колонны поддерживают пяты сводов, на парусах которых размещены круглые лепные барельефы. Два из них посвящены мифу об Амуре и Психее, два других изображали Афродиту и Адониса и сцену из истории Селены и Эндимиона. Ближайший к лестнице кабинет назывался «отдыхательной комнатой» и почти целиком был занят «античным ложем». Здесь превосходно сохранился камин белого мрамора с женскими фигурками на лопатках и резным орнаментом на фризе,  работы Ж.-Б. Шарлеманя-Боде.

Второй угловой кабинет, расположенный между теплой и парной банями, предназначался для массажных процедур.

ВАННАЯ КОМНАТА («ТЕПЛАЯ БАНЯ»)

Смежная с «массажной комнатой» ванная комната или «теплая баня» — просторное и светлое помещение, где прежде находилась ванна для купания в теплой воде. Стены Ванной были оштукатурены и окрашены; единственным украшением их стали профилированные рамки, членящие плоскости стен на филенки, и лепные декоративные вазы высокого рельефа над фронтонами дверей, две из которых ложные, несущие декоративную функцию. В XIX веке в Ванной комнате был установлен камин светло-серого мрамора.

КУПАЛЬНЫЙ ЗАЛ

Самым просторным и светлым помещением первого этажа является Купальный, перекрытый двойным крестовым сводом.

Согласно первоначальному проекту Камерона Купальный зал с бассейном должен был выглядеть особенно нарядно, поражать золотом лепных украшений на перекрытиях и также богатой отделкой стен из искусственного мрамора, расписанных орнаментами. Предполагалось установить над бассейном роскошный балдахин на фаянсовых колоннах с золочеными бронзовыми орлами и вымостить пол разноцветным мрамором.
 

Однако этот проект императрица отклонила; Камерону удалось отстоять лишь часть своего первоначального замысла и декорировать стены зала рельефными композициями на сюжеты мифов, связанных с водной стихией.

Сразу под сводами расположены большие полукруглые  панно с многофигурными композициями: на юго-восточной стене — «Акид и Галатея», на юго-западной — «Пан и Сиринга» и «Кентавр Несс и Деянира». На барельефе северо-западной стены изображена Амфитрита в окружении нереид, тритонов, дельфинов и амуров. Ниже идет сплошной скульптурный фриз, составленный из прямоугольных панно, чередующихся с круглыми медальонами, на которых представлены такие сюжеты, как «Туалет Венеры», «Галатея и Нептун», «Купающиеся наяды», «Триумф Амфитриты», а также аллегории рек и озер, изображение купальщиц и музы Эвтерпы. Скульптурные композиции были выполнены под руководством Ж.-Д. Рашетта.

Под паркетом зала скрыт кирпичный каркас находившегося в центре зала круглого бассейна для купания в прохладной воде объемом 13 кубометров, окруженный деревянной балюстрадой. Лесенки спускались в оловянную ванну, изготовленную мастером Албрехтом. В зале был установлен камин из белого мрамора, украшенный золоченой бронзой.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны в Купальном зале была устроена конюшня; бассейн был разломан, многие двери уничтожены, от полов остались лишь обломки. В 1949 и 1990 годах  прошли реставрационные работы.

ЛЕСТНИЦА

Два этажа павильона «Холодная баня» соединяет винтовая лестница, словно висящая в воздухе. Ее спиралевидный марш вписан в овальный объем помещения без обычных подпорных стенок. Концы ступеней вставлены в специальный канал, выбранный в стене, и заклинены камнем; кромки ступеней соединены посредством закруглений и выемок, и таким образом ступени опираются также друг на друга.

Сокращение расходов на художественную отделку помещений первого этажа Холодной бани, пересмотр проектных решений коснулись также и лестницы. На вопрос Ч. Камерона: «Из чего угодно ступени сделать, из российского мрамора или дикого камня?», последовал ответ императрицы Екатерины II: «Из дикого камня, но только покойную». Исполняя пожелания заказчицы, архитектор изготовил ступени из серого мелкозернистого гранита. Решетка лестницы получила простой рисунок в виде вертикальных стержней и гладких золоченых розеток; ее полированный поручень выполнен из красного виргинского дерева. Пол лестничных площадок выложен белым и серым мрамором с широким бордюром из путиловской плиты.

Стены лестничного пространства прорезаны двумя дверями и парой окон, между которыми располагаются полуциркульные ниши с мраморными скульптурами. Над нишами размещены круглые лепные медальоны с мифологическими композициями работы Ж.-Д. Рашетта. Стеклянное заполнение окна-двери,  выходящей на Висячий сад, выгнутое по форме стены, восстановлено в 2012 году.

Белые розетки кессонов купола над лестницей производят впечатление кружевного узора. Основание купола обегает лепной карниз с рельефом из листьев лотоса, а под ним тянется широкий фриз изящных арабесок с фигурами грифонов и вазами между ними.

Силуэт лестницы и все ее пространство, созданное Ч. Камероном, составляют одно из самых совершенных и изысканных творений шотландского архитектора, уникальное в истории русского зодчества, с которым оказалось связано его творчество.

 

Холодная баня
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта