RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Chesme Column

The Chesme Column was erected in 1774–78 in the Landscape Park (the Catherine Park) to the design of Antonio Rinaldi to celebrate Russian naval victories in the recent war against Turkey (1768–74).
See on Map

On 24 June 1770 ten Russian battleships and seven frigates under the command of Count Alexei Orlov and Admiral Grigory Spiridov defeated and put to flight a Turkish fleet of sixteen battleships and more than 100 frigates, galleys, brigantines and lesser vessels. This encounter took place in the Chios Strait and was a prelude to the Battle of Chesme on 26 June, when Russians under the command of Rear Admiral Samuel Greig set fire to the entire Turkish fleet.

In November 1770 a Russian detachment operating in the Mediterranean took the island of Mytilene (Lesbos) with naval support. The enemy was put to flight and the remnants of Turkey’s naval forces destroyed. It was to these three great victories that Catherine II dedicated the monument at Tsarskoye Selo. The Cheseme Column thus commemorates three battles: Chios, Chesme and Mytilene.

The Doric column hewn from three pieces of white and pink Olonets marble is decorated with rostra (ships’ prows) and crowned by an eagle trampling a crescent moon. On three sides of the grey marble pedestal are bronze bas-reliefs depicting the sea battles, while a marble plaque attached to the south side of the pedestal tells the story of the victories. The monument stands on a granite stylobate in the form of a truncated pyramid that rises straight out of the water. A grilled arch in the centre of the pyramid gives access to a flight of stone steps that lead up to the pedestal of the column.

The Chesme Column was glorified by Alexander Pushkin in his “Memories at Tsarskoye Selo”.

The Chesme Column was damaged considerably during the Second World War. The original bronze bas-reliefs were lost. In 1994–96 the reliefs were recreated to a project drawn up by the architect Alexander Kedrinsky, and in June 1996, to mark the 300th anniversary of the Russian Navy, they were installed in their former places.    
Visiting information

Panoramic view from across Great Pond near Stone Island
by www.panoramas.classic-ru.org :

The Chesme Column
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Чесменская колонна

Чесменская колонна воздвигнута в 1774–1778 годах по проекту А. Ринальди в честь морских побед русского оружия в Русско-турецкой войне 1768–1774 годов.

24 июня 1770 года под предводительством графа А. Г. Орлова и адмирала Г. А. Спиридова 10 российских военных кораблей и 7 фрегатов разбили и обратили в бегство турецкого пашу Жефир-Бея, у которого было 16 линейных кораблей и более 100 фрегатов, галер, бригантин и мелких судов. Это сражение произошло в Хиосском проливе и явилось преддверием Чесменского боя 26 июня, в результате которого под командованием контр-адмирала С. К. Грейга был сожжен весь турецкий флот.

В ноябре 1770 года русский отряд, находившийся в Средиземном море, занял с помощью флота остров Митилена. Неприятель был обращен в бегство, а остатки морских сил Турции — уничтожены. Этим грандиозным сражениям императрица Екатерина II и посвятила царскосельский монумент. Таким образом, Чесменская колонна стала памятником трем победам: Хиосской, Чесменской и Митиленской.

Мраморная дорическая колонна, вытесанная из трех кусков бело-розового олонецкого мрамора, украшена рострами и увенчана орлом, попирающим полумесяц. На трех сторонах серого мраморного пьедестала помещены бронзовые барельефы, изображающие морские баталии; с южной стороны к пьедесталу прикреплена мраморная доска с изложением истории увековеченных сражений. Памятник стоит на гранитном стилобате в виде усеченной пирамиды, поднимающейся прямо из воды. В центральной части пирамиды устроена арка, забранная решеткой, за которой скрыта каменная лестница, ведущая к пьедесталу колонны.

Чесменская колонна значительно пострадала во время Великой Отечественной войны: оригинальные бронзовые барельефы были утрачены. В 1994–1996 годах по проекту архитектора А. А. Кедринского эти барельефы воссоздали и в июне 1996 года, к 300-летию Военно-морского флота России, установили на прежнем месте.

Панорама из приложения «Царское Село» для iPad

Чесменская колонна
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта