RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Evening Hall

Close to the Private Garden in the Landscape Park (the Catherine Park) stands the Evening Hall, a pavilion whose construction began in 1796 to a design by Piotr Neyelov, but was completed only a decade and a half later to the design of Luigi Rusca.
See on Map

The Evening Hall consists of a rectangular hall and two small cabinets. Rusca embellished the central part of the main façade with a portico with four Ionic columns, while placing caryatids on low pedestals either side of the windows. As a result of these changes, the pavilion lost the original appearance planned by Neyelov, who proposed to decorate the façades with “palms with trunks made from logs covered with sheet metal and crowns” and took on features of late Classicism with its characteristic tendency towards large areas of smooth wall enlivened by sculpture.

The interior walls of the large hall were faced with artificial marble that perished in the Second World War. The decorative artist Fiodor Shcherbakov adorned the upper part of the walls with a painted frieze depicting deer and cupids in chariots in a park-like setting. The partially extant polychrome ceiling painting was restored after the war.
 

The Evening Hall
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Вечерний зал

Недалеко от Собственного садика расположен павильон «Вечерний зал», строительство которого началось в 1796 году по проекту П. В. Неелова, но завершилось лишь через полтора десятилетия, уже по чертежу Л. Руски.

Вечерний зал состоит из прямоугольного зала и двух небольших кабинетов. Центральный ризалит главного фасада Л. Руска украсил портиком из четырех ионических колонн, а по сторонам окон на невысоких пьедесталах поместил кариатид. В результате этих переделок павильон утратил первоначальный облик, задуманный П. В. Нееловым, предполагавшим украсить фасад «пальмами со стволами, сделанными из бревен, обитых жестью, с кронами», и приобрел черты позднего классицизма с характерным тяготением к широкой глади стен, оживленной скульптурой.

Внутри стены большого зала были облицованы искусственным мрамором, утраченным в годы Великой Отечественной войны; их верхний ярус художник-декоратор Ф. А. Щербаков декорировал живописным фризом, изобразив на фоне паркового пейзажа оленей и амуров на колесницах. Фриз и частично сохранившаяся полихромная роспись плафона реставрирована после войны.

Вечерний зал
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта