RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Orlov (Gatchina) Gate

The Orlov or Gatchina Gate was erected between 1777 and 1782 on the boundary of the Catherine Park at the start of the road to Gatchina, the former estate of Count Grigory Orlov, commander-in-chief of the Russian artillery. Catherine II honoured one of her favourites with this monument in his own lifetime to celebrate his success in directing the struggle against a plague epidemic that afflicted Moscow in 1771. The side of the gate facing Gatchin bears an inscription taken from the poet Vasily Maikov’s address to the general: “Moscow has been delivered from misfortune by Orlov.” Another inscription on the park side gives a fuller account of this event.

The architectural design for the Orlov Gate, approved by Catherine II in 1771, was the work of Antonio Rinaldi. The construction was supervised by his fellow architect Ilya Neyelov and the master mason Pinchetti.

Compositionally the Orlov Gate takes the form of a triumphal arch with a single span. Rinaldi employed elements borrowed from Ancient Roman architecture: columns and pilasters on pedestals are placed to the sides of the lofty arch. A memorial inscription is placed on the attic that faces into the park. The pink Tivdia marble of the columns and panels is set off well by the grey marble that was used to face the main bulk of the edifice.

In 1781 it was decided to add functioning gates to the arch, but it was another six years before wrought-iron leaves were produced at the Sestroretsk Arms Factory to the design of the architect Giacomo Quarenghi. In 1784–86 iron railings were set up either side of the gate.

In 1789 Prince G. Potyomkin-Tavrichesky went through this gate bringing news about victory over the Turkish troops in Moldavia.

See on Map

The Orlov (Gatchina) Gate
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Орловские ворота

Орловские (Гатчинские) ворота были воздвигнуты в 1777– 1782 годах на границе Екатерининского парка, у выезда на дорогу, ведущую в Гатчину, бывшее имение генерал-фельдцейхмейстера Г. Г. Орлова. Императрица Екатерина II почтила одного из своих фаворитов этим прижизненным монументом в ознаменование успеха возглавленной им борьбы с эпидемией чумы, охватившей Москву в 1771 году. На фасаде ворот, обращенном к Гатчине, во фризе помещена надпись, взятая из стихотворного послания к генералу поэта В. И. Майкова: «Орловым от беды избавлена Москва». Другая надпись, со стороны Екатерининского парка, более подробно повествует об этом событии.

Автором архитектурного проекта Орловских ворот, утвержденного Екатериной II в 1771 году, является А. Ринальди. Строительные работы велись под наблюдением архитектора И. В. Неелова и каменных дел мастера И. Пинкетти.

Орловские ворота следуют композиции однопролетной триумфальной арки. В их решении А. Ринальди использовал элементы древнеримской архитектуры: колонны и пилястры на пьедесталах размещены по сторонам высокой арки; на аттике со стороны парка помещена мемориальная надпись. Розовый тивдийский мрамор колонн и филенок отчетливо выступает на фоне серого мрамора, которым облицован основной массив сооружения.

В 1781 году решено было сделать Орловские ворота запирающимися, и спустя шесть лет на Сестрорецких оружейных заводах для них отлили железные створы, спроектированные архитектором Д. Кваренги. В 1784–1786 годах по обеим сторонам ворот установили железные решетки.

Орловские ворота
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта