RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Tower Ruin

Among the complex of edifices devoted to the Russo-Turkish Wars at Tsarskoye Selo, an important place is occupied by the monumental and effective Tower Ruin in the Catherine Park.
See on Map

Constructed in 1771 to the design of the architect Yury Velten, his creation is a sort of symbol of the collapse of the Ottoman Empire and at the same time the first Neo-Gothic structure in any Russian park. From the outside the tower looks like a Doric column that has sunk into the ground. It is topped by a large square platform supporting a round pavilion whose walls are pierced by lancet arches.

The brick walls abutting the tower are partly hidden within the man-made hill. The wall facing the park is perforated by a semicircular arch. The gigantic keystone of this arch bears the inscription: “This stone was placed in 1768 in memory of the war declared on Russia by the Turks.” The arch serves as the entrance to a narrow corridor on the right side of which a spiral ramp begins that gives access to the upper platform. From up there, at a height of 21 metres, you get a splendid view of the Landscape Park.

In days gone by the walls of the Tower Ruin were decorated with paintings produced by Russian artists under the direction of Alexei Belsky. The surface of the plaster was artificially aged with cracks imitating natural wear-and-tear. Because of this the tower resembled the ruins of some work of fortification, interest in which was particularly strong in the second half of the eighteenth century: the architects of that time appreciated the beauty of the picturesque ruins of Greece and Rome and created their own artificial ruins, producing an atmosphere of melancholy in the parks.

The oaks that were planted in the 1780s between the Tower Ruin and the nearby Orlov Gate and also on the slope of the embankment were nearly all felled during the Second World war. Today the slopes of the hill are concealed by the bright foliage of young trees.

The Tower Ruin almost immediately became one of the most popular sights of the Tsarskoye Selo parks and it has been depicted by artists many times.    

Visiting information

The Tower Ruin
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Башня-руина

В комплексе памятников Царского Села, посвященных русско-турецким войнам, важное место принадлежит монументальной и эффектной Башне-руине.

Построенное по проекту архитектора Ю. М. Фельтена в 1771 году, это сооружение является своеобразным символом падения Оттоманской Порты, а венчающая ее беседка – одной из первых русских парковых построек в «готическом» стиле. Внешне Башня руина напоминает ушедшую в землю дорическую колонну, завершенную большой квадратной площадкой с круглым в плане павильоном, стены которого прорезаны стрельчатыми арками.

К башне примыкают каменные стены, отчасти скрытые в толще искусственной земляной горы. Стена, обращенная к парку, прорезана полуциркульной аркой. На замыкающем арку гигантском камне высечена надпись: «На память войны, объявленной турками России, сей камень поставлен 1768 году». Арка служит входом в узкий коридор, в правой части которого начинается винтообразный пандус, служащий для подъема на верхнюю площадку. Отсюда, с высоты в 21 метр, открывается великолепный вид на пейзажный парк.

Поверхность стен  была искусственно «состарена» трещинами, имитирующими естественные повреждения и поверх штукатурки расписана под руководством художника А. И. Бельского. Благодаря этому Башня напоминала развалины крепостного сооружения, интерес к которым в архитектуре второй половины XVIII века был особенно велик: зодчие того времени ценили красоту живописных развалин Греции и Рима и возводили искусственные руины, создававшие в парках атмосферу меланхолии.

В 1780-х годах между Башней-руиной и расположенными неподалеку Орловскими воротами, а также на склоне земляной горы высадили дубы, по большей части вырубленные в годы Великой Отечественной войны. Ныне склоны горы скрыты за яркой зеленью молодых деревьев.

Уже в XVIII веке Башня-руина стала одним из наиболее популярных сооружений царскосельских парков, которое неоднократно изображали художники.

Башня-руина
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта