RUS / ENG Home
Поиск по сайту
Guestbook Sitemap
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

The Hermitage Kitchen

A fascination with the forms of Gothic and Chinese art was a characteristic feature of Russian suburban and country-estate architecture in the 1760s and 1770s. A romantic garden was supposed to create the illusion of a journey through different lands.

The earliest Neo-Gothic edifices at Tsarskoye Selo are the Tower Ruin and the Admiralty Complex, both dating from the early 1770s. Later the Hermitage Kitchen was built to Vasily Neyelov’s design. In the eighteenth century this structure had two functions, serving not only as a kitchen, but also as an entrance gate to the Catherine Park. For that reason the pavilion is quite often referred to as the Red Gate.                              See on Map

The architectural concept of the Hermitage Kitchen is linked to the canal that was constructed in 1774 along the boundary of the Old Garden. The replacement of the former unbroken masonry wall with a canal and embankment was part of a wide-reaching programme for the reorganization of the Catherine Park.

In ground plan the Hermitage Kitchen takes the form of an elongated rectangle with two projections on the side of the park. The building culminates in a round two-tier tower. In the design of the facades Neyelov used the motif of semicircular niches in which he placed decorative vases that were sometimes referred to as “goblets” in the eighteenth century on account of their geometrical shape and massive heaviness.

The decoration of the Hermitage also includes other devices typical of early Classicism, including the embellishment of the walls with panels and the garland of stuccowork above the arch of the gateway. The building gets its “Gothic” character from the crenellated parapet, the rectangular and triangular merlons crowning the lower and upper tiers of the tower and also the pyramids topped with balls placed on the corners. In imitation of Gothic edifices in England, the walls of the Hermitage Kitchen were left unplastered, while the joints between the bricks, the moulded details, the niches and panels on the facades were whitewashed.

Now restored, the pavilion houses a Catherine Park ticket office and the Hermitage Kitchen restaurant and café.

The Hermitage Kitchen
© The Tsarskoye Selo State Museum-Preserve. Terms of Use of Website Materials

RUS / ENG На главную
Поиск по сайту
Гостевая книга Карта сайта
Екатерининский дворецЕкатерининский паркАлександровский дворецАлександровский парк

Эрмитажная кухня

Для русской усадебной и загородной архитектуры 1760–1770-х годов характерно увлечение формами готического и китайского искусства. Романтический сад должен был создавать иллюзию «путешествия» по разным странам.

Наиболее ранними памятниками неоготики в Царском Селе являются Башня-руина и комплекс Адмиралтейства, сооруженные в начале 1770-х годов. Позднее по проекту В. И. Неелова была выстроена Эрмитажная кухня, в XVIII веке имевшая двоякое назначение — она служила не только кухней, но и воротами для въезда в Екатерининский парк. Поэтому павильон нередко называли Красными воротами.

Архитектурный замысел Эрмитажной кухни связан с начатым в 1774 году сооружением канала вдоль границы Старого сада. Замена старой глухой каменной ограды каналом и набережной были частью широкой программы реорганизации Екатерининского парка.

В плане Эрмитажная кухня представляет вытянутый прямоугольник с двумя выступами со стороны парка. Венчает здание круглая двухъярусная башня. В декорации фасадов павильона В. И. Неелов применил мотив полуциркульных ниш, в которых были размещены декоративные вазы, в XVIII веке иногда называвшиеся «кубами» из-за их геометрической формы, массивности и тяжеловесности.

В декоре Эрмитажной кухни использованы и другие приемы, типичные для раннего классицизма, в частности обработка стен филенками и гирлянда лепных полотенец над аркой ворот. «Готический» характер придают зданию зубчатый парапет, прямоугольные и треугольные зубцы над первым и верхним ярусами башни, а также расположенные по углам здания пирамиды, увенчанные шарами. В подражание готическим сооружениям Англии стены Эрмитажной кухни оставлены неоштукатуренными, а швы между кирпичами, лепные детали, ниши и филенки на фасадах выбелены.

В настоящее время в павильоне завершаются реставрационные работы.

Эрмитажная кухня
© Государственный музей-заповедник Царское Cело. Правила использования материалов сайта